Film Fest

The Perfect Detonator

Your Name:  Jay White

Where are you from?  Currently living on Gabriola Island, one of the Gulf Islands between Vancouver and Vancouver Island.

The name of your film in the festival:  The Perfect Detonator

What was your inspiration for this film?  Hmmm… I don’t like to talk a lot about my reasons behind making films and other art, because I prefer to let each viewer make their own stories about it, based on their own experiences. However:  I draw inspiration from events in my own life – from things I’m going through while I’m making the film. I also seem to focus on mankind’s relationship with nature (or lack of a relationship) in most of my films.  The last film I made, Boar Attack, had a lot of dialogue and involved human-looking characters. I wanted to do something more fun this time, and make up an imaginary world with different-looking characters.

Why did you choose to submit to the DCISFF?  I used to live in the Yukon (Marsh Lake), and the DCISFF was one of the highlights of my year, without fail. Along with Marsh Lake, Dawson is my favorite place in the Yukon. I use any excuse I can to make it up there. Also, the festival is my favorite. It’s relaxed, everyone knows each other, the whole town comes out.  Also, my last two films premiered at DCISFF, and I really wanted the chance to premiere The Perfect Detonator there as well.


The Perfect Detonator
is part of the Big Finish on Sunday evening at 8 pm.
Leave a Reply

