Film Fest

Kit’s Picks

When it comes to the film fest, I’m kind of crazy.  I’m sure don’t really need me to point this out to you, but…  just in case you weren’t sure:  I am crazy.  I’m on the committee.  I attend almost every single film selection night.  I work on the blog.  And when it comes time for the actual festival weekend, I go to as many screenings as physically possible.  I get up early and stay up late (I may not even sleep).  I attend the workshops.  I socialize.  I party.  I live it up.  I do it all.  I even have a film in the festival this year, just to make sure that I really run the gamut.  And that gamut is a marathon.  So yeah–crazy.

I would love it if everyone in town approached the film festival weekend with the same wide-eyed whole-hearted enthusiasm as I do, but I know that’s not really the case.  So while I do genuinely recommend every single screening, workshop and even this weekend, if I were forced (I mean, really forced–Spanish Inquisition-style forced) to choose only one event per day, here are the screenings I would list as utterly unmissable:

PAINTED HOUSES on Thursday at 7:30 pm:  Watching 13 short films accompanied by a live performance of the soundtrack by Rozalind MacPhail just sounds incredible to me.

STRANGE THINGS DONE on Friday at 11:30 pm: I’m dying to see Figs in Motion, which I missed during the selections process and have heard so much about ever since.  The Devil Wears a Paper Hat is just magical–really beautiful, wonderful and weird.  And who would want to miss their chance to see goths riding on the bus?

BEYOND AURORA on Saturday at 11:30 pm:  Stay up late again, because Belt Buckle / Quonset Hut is worth losing sleep over, and the gorgeous and creepy Wald Von Versuchungen: Forest of Temptation will give you the best kind of nightmare.

INTER-IRRUPTION: ARTISTS IN RESIDENCE TALK on Sunday at 3 pm:  Don’t miss this chance to see what filmmakers-in-residence Angela Joosse and Marcia Connolly have been up to during their time in Dawson.

Oh that was hard work, but there you go: one event per day as suggested by me.  I really think that you should see everything, but can’t imagine that you’d be disappointed by anything that you do see.  Happy viewing.

Posted by Kit.

Leave a comment